Rhythm action revival Amplitude gets a PS4 release date

Harmonix’s rebooted PS2 classic arrives on 5th January 2016

Hello rhythm game fanatics and Kickstarter backers! The PS4 version of Amplitude launches on 5th January 2016 via PlayStation Store.

Harmonix rebooted this PS2 cult-classic music game with the help of Kickstarter backers. Amplitude is back with high-fidelity visuals, new songs, a sci-fi narrative, and more.


Amplitude features a single-player campaign along with competitive and cooperative local multiplayer modes. The campaign is presented in the form of a sci-fi concept album with a narrative that surfaces through the game’s visuals, music, and lyrics. There are also leaderboards available for bragging rights.

With a soundtrack of more than 30 songs, Amplitude includes music from exciting artists such as Darren Korb (Transistor), C418 (Minecraft), Insomniac Games, and Freezepop, as well as songs from Kickstarter backers, and music crafted by Harmonix’s talented in-house composers.

The entire soundtrack is as follows:

  • “All The Time” — C418
  • “Assault on Psychofortress” — Single White Infidel
  • “Astrosight” — Inter:sect Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto
  • “Break for Me” — James Landino Ft. Noelle LeBlanc
  • “Concept” — Symbion Project
  • “Crazy Ride” — Insomniac Games
  • “Crypteque (1-2)” — Danny Baranowsky
  • “Crystal” — George & Jonathan
  • “Dalatecht” — Harmonix
  • “Decode Me” — Inter:sect Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto
  • “Digital Paralysis” — Harmonix
  • “Do Not Retreat” — Komputer Kontroller
  • “Dreamer” — Harmonix
  • “Energize” — Harmonix
  • “Entomophobia” — M-Cue
  • “Force Quit” — Jim Guthrie
  • “Human Love” — Harmonix
  • “I.C.U.” — Harmonix
  • “Impossible” — Darren Korb
  • “Lights” — Wolfgun
  • “Magpie” — Harmonix
  • “Muze (Amplitude Remix)” — Ingrid Lukas, Remix by Patrik Zosso and Nik Bärtsch
  • “Perfect Brain” — Harmonix
  • “Phantoms” — Freezepop
  • “Recession” — Jeff Allen Ft. Noelle LeBlanc & Naoko Takamoto
  • “Red Giant” — Kodomo
  • “Supraspatial” — Jeff Allen Ft. Naoko Takamoto
  • “Synthesized” — Symbion Project
  • “Unfinished Business” — Shiohito Taki & Junichi Kamiunten
  • “Wayfarer” — Harmonix
  • “Wetware” — Harmonix


0 Author replies

Will backers receive their codes on the same day?

yay!!…finally a release date been waiting soo long for an announcement, the original is amazing (i still have it) and have fond gaming memories of it bring on January :)

No Vita version I’m guessing? :(

For a moment i thought the PS3 version was canned, but the title of the video apparently says otherwise. Any ETA for that version?


Releasing the day after an assignment deadline? Don’t mind if I do!

I loved amplitude so much on PS2 so i’m really excited to see this make a comeback, i’m not too sure about playing it though without some decent songs :(

OMG I’ve been waiting FOREVER for this freaking game! Now you’re telling me it launches within days of EDF 4.1?! Two of this year’s best games at the SAME TIME?! Dropping Fallout4 and Black Ops 3 for these 2 games, this will be the most orgasmic month in years! Won’t be touching anything else for months..

We close the comments for posts after 30 days.

Edit history